Skip to main content

Deleting data

To delete your data from Movebank, you can delete specific tags, specific files, or an entire study. If you delete animals or deployments, the associated data will not be deleted. In general, Movebank stores all data uploaded to studies and does not support the deletion of individual records in a dataset. Instead, Movebank allows data owners to define locations that should not be considered animal tracks by setting deployment periods and by identifying outliers—see here for a description of these options.

To delete a tag,

  • Log in to Movebank and go to Tracking Data Map > Studies.
  • Type in the name of your study and select the name from the list on the left to view the study details.
  • Select Tags from the menu on the left below the study name.
  • Select the Tag ID you want to delete.
  • Select Delete Tag, located below the Tag Details.
  • You will be asked to confirm you want to delete the tag. If data are associated with the tag, you will be asked "Do you really want to delete this tag and all associated tracking data?" Click Ok to delete the tag or Cancel if you change your mind.
  • Alternatively, you can delete a tag in the Deployment Manager. Hover the cursor over the Tag ID and select Remove Tag. You will be asked to confirm the deletion as described above.

To delete a file,

  • Log in to Movebank and go to Tracking Data Map > Studies.
  • Type in the name of your study and select the name from the list on the left to view the study details.
  • Select Files from the menu on the left below the study name.
  • Select the file you want to delete.
  • Select Delete File, located below the File Details.
  • You will be asked to confirm you want to delete the file. If data are associated with the file, you will be asked "Do you really want to delete this file and all associated tracking data?" Click Ok to delete the file or Cancel if you change your mind.

To delete an entire study

  • Log in to Movebank and go to Tracking Data Map > Studies.
  • Type in the name of your study and select the name from the list on the left to view the study details.
  • Select Delete Study, located below the Study Details.
  • You will be asked to confirm you want to delete the study. If data or reference data have been added to the study, you will see a summary of the contents of the study and be asked "Do you really want to delete this study and all associated content?" Click Ok to delete the file or Cancel if you change your mind.